Jump to content



Welcome to AstaHost - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!

Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  yordan : (14 April 2014 - 05:28 PM) By The Way, This Could Be An Interesting Subject For A Topic, What About Posting This Question? Let's See If Other People Have The Same Feeling Concerning Bootlists!
@  yordan : (13 April 2014 - 09:36 AM) Boot Order : Cd, [Usb,] Hard Drive :D
@  yordan : (11 April 2014 - 07:23 PM) I Simply Let The Bios Do That
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:23 AM) Is It Possible To Launch Fedora Live Cd Or Installation Disk From Hard Drive On Windows Platform Using Grub Mbr File.
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:21 AM) No U Are Not.. Btw.. I Have Question For You.
@  yordan : (10 April 2014 - 08:02 AM) You Are Partially Right.
I Was Not.
Nevertheless, I Am Again :)
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) :P
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) I Think U R Not..
@  yordan : (09 April 2014 - 09:28 AM) I'm The Master Of The Shoutbox!
@  yordan : (05 April 2014 - 10:32 PM) He-He
@  Ritesh : (04 April 2014 - 06:59 PM) Ha Ha Ha ....
@  yordan : (04 April 2014 - 11:15 AM) Welcome Back, Starscream!
@  yordan : (03 April 2014 - 02:31 PM) And I Hope That He Will Come Back Soon :)
@  yordan : (01 April 2014 - 02:53 PM) Nice, Ritesh Came, I'm Not Home Alone Today.
@  Ritesh : (01 April 2014 - 08:51 AM) Oh!!! Poor Dear Yordan..
@  yordan : (31 March 2014 - 10:02 AM) I'm A Poor Lonesome Cow-Boy
@  yordan : (27 March 2014 - 02:22 PM) He Is Unpatient Due To His Patients!
@  Ritesh : (27 March 2014 - 10:46 AM) :(
@  Ritesh : (27 March 2014 - 10:46 AM) He Is Busy With His Patients.
@  yordan : (26 March 2014 - 08:12 PM) Ahsani, Where Are You?

Photo
- - - - -

How To Play Mac Games On Windows And Vice-versa


32 replies to this topic

#1 nhlgoalie2003

nhlgoalie2003

    Newbie [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 January 2006 - 05:47 PM

i used to have a windows computer and now that i have a mac i cant play a lot of games online and a lot of computer games u buy arent compatible for it. i was just wondering what computer is as safe as a mac but still uses windows

Edited by miCRoSCoPiC^eaRthLinG, 08 January 2006 - 05:44 AM.


#2 dhanesh

dhanesh

    Binary Geek

  • Members
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Digital Arena
  • myCENTs:42.19

Posted 07 January 2006 - 05:58 PM

You could use Virtual PC .. but umm i dont know if you could play PC games as smooth as in PC .. I guess most of the games that come out now have a MAC version to it. Like Warcraft, Doom, NFS etc ...

Regards
Dhanesh.

#3 xboxrulz

xboxrulz

    Colonel Panic

  • Members
  • 3,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • myCENTs:59.15

Posted 14 January 2006 - 01:52 AM

If you get the Intel-based Macs, it is said that it could run Windows on the Mac.

Yet, I could be wrong.

xboxrulz

#4 fishling

fishling

    Newbie [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 February 2006 - 11:21 PM

The problem is that any windows games that have more than basic grathix cant play on mac because mac uses open GL and windows dosn't

#5 abhiram

abhiram

    Hedonist at large

  • Members
  • 610 posts
  • Location:another realm
  • Interests:Computers, Music (both playing and listening)

Posted 12 February 2006 - 03:03 AM

The problem is that any windows games that have more than basic grathix cant play on mac because mac uses open GL and windows dosn't


Windows does use OpenGL. It depends on the game ... whether it is compatible with openGL or directX.

You could use Virtual PC .. but umm i dont know if you could play PC games as smooth as in PC


Nope, in all probability, games won't work in Virtual PC. I've tried it out in VMWare, but they just wouldn't work. Your best bet would be, as Dhanesh said, to get the games with native Mac support.

#6 overworked

overworked

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 29 May 2006 - 12:03 PM

If you get the Intel-based Macs, it is said that it could run Windows on the Mac.

Yet, I could be wrong.

xboxrulz


The new dual-processor macs can in fact install a full windows program on the mac, now this also opens you up to all the vulnarabilities of the windows system as well, so I've yet to go that far.

#7 quinciest

quinciest

    Member [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 01 February 2007 - 06:40 AM

if you like gaming
but high spec computer and install windows
mac just for grafic activity
LOL

#8 Alegis

Alegis

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 300 posts

Posted 01 February 2007 - 09:28 AM

Play mac games on the PC?

May I ask to which games you could be possibly referring to then? Super breakout, super breakout 2 and zork aren't really worthwhile to play on PC. As for the other games I'm sure they are ports from their respective PC versions or not as noteworthy at the very least.

#9 issdiscovery04

issdiscovery04

    Member [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 01 February 2007 - 03:26 PM

You would really have to specify exactly what games and its developer. Since many developers make games, they usually all make them differently. Some games are more adaptable than other, some are less stable, some are more stable, etc. It would really be helpful if you would specify what you are trying to port from Windows or Mac.
(Then there are some that just aren't worth the effort)

#10 xboxrulz

xboxrulz

    Colonel Panic

  • Members
  • 3,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • myCENTs:59.15

Posted 01 February 2007 - 10:11 PM

You just use BootCamp to dual boot into Windows.

Simple as that.

xboxrulz

#11 hollyhogan

hollyhogan

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 01 March 2007 - 06:42 AM

eyy man use virtualmachinne is easy

#12 unimatrix

unimatrix

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 493 posts

Posted 18 March 2007 - 06:38 AM

I used Virtual PC for Mac for years, but now I would use Bootcamp, but there hasn't been a need for me to use windows in the past couple years. I've often thought about buying a cheap Windows machine to play Falcon 4.0 Allied somethinguruther but never have. After next month I think I'll have about an extra $850 and seriously might consider getting a new play box and adding a second HDD for FreeBSD to use a full time Blender 3D render agent.

#13 Guest_FeedBacker_*

Guest_FeedBacker_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 December 2007 - 05:00 AM

Well,

this is starting a whole new argument, but anyway, I have a windows XP pro, and at high school there is this fully sick game on the macs,

I was wondering if there was a free application floating around on the web allowing you to play mac games on Windows. If you know of it,

Regards Tha gamer prop

-tha gamer prop

#14 stalker

stalker

    Newbie [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 December 2007 - 06:00 AM

simply. u cant.

virtual pc wont work because the graphic card needed is not what the computer has.

or else thats what ive learned in the past.

correct me if im wrong.

#15 Guest_FeedBacker_*

Guest_FeedBacker_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 January 2008 - 05:33 PM

mac games
How To Play Mac Games On Windows And Vice-versa

I wanna play redline on my mac but I accidentally made it into a windows xp now I cant play it and its annoying I really need a way of playing this game

-John

#16 Guest_FeedBacker_*

Guest_FeedBacker_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 January 2008 - 07:54 AM

I Now how to play mac games on windows, ex. nfs carbon!!
How To Play Mac Games On Windows And Vice-versa

If you have the NFS carbon for mac, you can play this on windows!!

I have the way!!
1- copy the nfs.App on windows partition
1- go to the folder of the game
3- pres the find boton
3- find *.Dll
4- copy all the dll to see:/winddowssystem32 the system ask you if you want to remplace some files, sey no
And you are ready to play

5- find the exe file locate in the same folder

If you have som problem find all .Exe files on the folder
And run nfs_inst.Exe
And then run nfsc.Exe
Avery file you need is on (Contents) folder

-Edward de jesus

#17 jenderamabuk

jenderamabuk

    Newbie [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 February 2008 - 04:30 AM

You just use BootCamp to dual boot into Windows.

Simple as that.

xboxrulz


that's Right. But Why You want To play your mac Game on windows.??

#18 xboxrulz

xboxrulz

    Colonel Panic

  • Members
  • 3,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • myCENTs:59.15

Posted 11 February 2008 - 05:39 AM

You can actually see if your favourite Windows game have been ported from Windows to Mac at Asypr, EA and other small Mac vendors. You can also check the Apple Store (this link is to the Canadian version)

xboxrulz

#19 monahan

monahan

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 15 February 2008 - 12:47 AM

If you really want performance, Bootcamp is the way to go. It is also free!

For convenience, use Parallels, Virtual PC, or crossover.(but you will take a speed hit) you have to share your system resources with both operating systems. For this reason I would definitely recommend Bootcamp. All you need to buy is a copy or windows if you do not already have one.

#20 Guest_FeedBacker_*

Guest_FeedBacker_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 February 2008 - 04:46 PM

That is false
How To Play Mac Games On Windows And Vice-versa

Replying to fishling

Windows does too use OpenGL. All you have to do is have a video card capable of running it. I play Quake under GLQuake.Exe all the time on my computer and it plays great. The same goes for Duke Nukem : Manhattan Project. That also uses OpenGL and I have Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005.



-Jonathan



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users