Jump to content



Welcome to AstaHost - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!

Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  styleseye : (24 April 2014 - 02:29 PM) Https://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=Https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Geh4Rs-Boh8&feature=Youtu.be&h=Taqexxpem
@  styleseye : (24 April 2014 - 02:28 PM) Https://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=Https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Geh4Rs-Boh8&feature=Youtu.be&h=Taqexxpem
@  yordan : (21 April 2014 - 09:11 PM) Hey, Ritesh, Did You Hear Me?
@  yordan : (14 April 2014 - 05:28 PM) By The Way, This Could Be An Interesting Subject For A Topic, What About Posting This Question? Let's See If Other People Have The Same Feeling Concerning Bootlists!
@  yordan : (13 April 2014 - 09:36 AM) Boot Order : Cd, [Usb,] Hard Drive :D
@  yordan : (11 April 2014 - 07:23 PM) I Simply Let The Bios Do That
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:23 AM) Is It Possible To Launch Fedora Live Cd Or Installation Disk From Hard Drive On Windows Platform Using Grub Mbr File.
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:21 AM) No U Are Not.. Btw.. I Have Question For You.
@  yordan : (10 April 2014 - 08:02 AM) You Are Partially Right.
I Was Not.
Nevertheless, I Am Again :)
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) :P
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) I Think U R Not..
@  yordan : (09 April 2014 - 09:28 AM) I'm The Master Of The Shoutbox!
@  yordan : (05 April 2014 - 10:32 PM) He-He
@  Ritesh : (04 April 2014 - 06:59 PM) Ha Ha Ha ....
@  yordan : (04 April 2014 - 11:15 AM) Welcome Back, Starscream!
@  yordan : (03 April 2014 - 02:31 PM) And I Hope That He Will Come Back Soon :)
@  yordan : (01 April 2014 - 02:53 PM) Nice, Ritesh Came, I'm Not Home Alone Today.
@  Ritesh : (01 April 2014 - 08:51 AM) Oh!!! Poor Dear Yordan..
@  yordan : (31 March 2014 - 10:02 AM) I'm A Poor Lonesome Cow-Boy
@  yordan : (27 March 2014 - 02:22 PM) He Is Unpatient Due To His Patients!

Photo
- - - - -

Disable Or Limit Access To The Control Panel


13 replies to this topic

#1 soleimanian

soleimanian

    End Of Computer

  • Members
  • 346 posts
  • Location:.:: MARS ::.
  • Interests:smoking, drinking, gambling

Posted 24 June 2005 - 09:35 PM

How to disable or limit access to the Control Panel (Windows NT, 2000, XP)

1- Run Group Policy; for this click Start > Run > and type gpedit.msc and press OK.
2- In left side under User Configuration section select Administrative Templates and click on (+) and select Control Panel. In right side :
3- In Windows 2000 double click on Disable Control Panel and in Windows XP double click on Prohibit access to the Control Panel.
4- select Enabled and press OK.

To hide Control Panel items from Control Panel window:
1- double click on Hide Specified Control Panel Applets and select Enabled.
2- click on Show; in new window click Add.
3- to hide Control Panel items from Control Panel type its name in dialog box. For example : if you type System, Windows will hide System icon from Control Panel.
Note that Group Policy will hide Control Panel items from Control Panel, a professional user can type sysdm.cpl in Run dialog box and run System Properties.

#2 WeaponX

WeaponX

    Way Out Of Control - You need a life :)

  • Members
  • 1,086 posts
  • Location:New York
  • myCENTs:86.41

Posted 25 June 2005 - 03:38 AM

Does this tip also work for Windows XP Home users? I don't recall having gpedit for Home, only Pro version. Unless it's on the CD?

#3 miCRoSCoPiC^eaRthLinG

miCRoSCoPiC^eaRthLinG

    PsYcheDeLiC dR3aMeR

  • Members
  • 2,248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangkok, Thailand
  • Interests:Photography, Magic Tricks, Numismatics & Philately to some extent, Being a nuisance in general (that's my favourite)
  • myCENTs:NEGATIVE[-21.50]

Posted 25 June 2005 - 04:07 AM

I don't know about home edition - but surely for XP pro you can run gpedit.msc and do the aforementioned trick. This also works on Win2K.

#4 madcrow

madcrow

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 25 June 2005 - 02:16 PM

Why would you want to do that? Are you one of those evil admins who believes in killing users' abilities to customize their machines?

#5 soleimanian

soleimanian

    End Of Computer

  • Members
  • 346 posts
  • Location:.:: MARS ::.
  • Interests:smoking, drinking, gambling

Posted 25 June 2005 - 02:48 PM

Why would you want to do that? Are you one of those evil admins who believes in killing users' abilities to customize their machines?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

no, it is because of security purposes
amateur user can dimages your system

#6 klas2c

klas2c

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 28 June 2005 - 05:58 PM

so i can use this to give my sister the possibility of installing things, but not let her on the controll panel?

and does this work on windows media center edition 2005 also?

#7 mitch99

mitch99

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 11:41 PM

No, the gpedit does not work on Windows Xp Home. I have XP home and tried it but it doesnt work so you need Pro to run gpdedit.

#8 Styx

Styx

    Newbie [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 July 2005 - 04:34 PM

no, it is because of security purposes
amateur user can dimages your system

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

most definitely. i have had several systems ruined by people who thought they knew what they were doing, and ended up deleting system files and stuff. plus good security is a must-have today. i don't see any problem with users customising the looks, but the actual programs and registry, i don;t see why they need access to it. I use 1st security agent on all the computers in our office, and it provides a nice GUI to doing all the security stuff that takes so long to do piece by piece in the registry.

#9 Guest_FeedBacker_*

Guest_FeedBacker_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 November 2007 - 09:21 PM

If you can't access gpedit, you can do it with the registry editor. Run "regedit" (without the quotes), open HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software > Microsoft > Windows> CurrentVersion > Policies > Explorer. Right click on "NoControlPanel", then set the value to "1", which will then disable the control panel for the current user. If you want to enable it, just reset the value to "0".

-John

#10 Guest_(G)David_*

Guest_(G)David_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 August 2009 - 12:46 PM

Time changes Disable Or Limit Access To The Control Panel

Sime program is periodically changing the time shown in the lower right corner of the screen. Is there wome way to disable this (in control panel?) so that the time shown only changes when I want it to change?

-reply by David



#11 Guest_(G)Muhammad Imran_*

Guest_(G)Muhammad Imran_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 September 2009 - 10:29 AM

how to limit the remote accessDisable Or Limit Access To The Control Panel

Hy All,

I want to ask a question from you all.

I have a server2K3 in my office. When any user want to access this server from start=>run=>server's IP address , it ask me the authentication. After giving the authentication I can access the files from the server.

next time when I try to access the server again from  start=>run=>server's IP address. It doesn't ask for password and access directly to the server untill unless I restart the machine.

I want whenever I need to access the server from the XP machine, it should ask me for authentication without restarting the PC.

I checked the GPO but I didn't found any policy for this limit. Please tell me the solution for this as soon as possible. Thanks 

-question by Muhammad Imran

#12 HannahI

HannahI

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 442 posts
  • Location:Northeast, United States of America
  • myCENTs:READY[561.92]

Posted 08 October 2009 - 07:57 PM

Thank, a lot.

#13 Guest_(G)trlkly_*

Guest_(G)trlkly_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 January 2010 - 11:08 AM

@DavidDisable Or Limit Access To The Control Panel

Double click the clock (in the bottom right corner) to open up the Date and Time Properties. If the only thing wrong is the hour, make sure you've chosen the right Timezone in the Time Zone tab. Otherwise use the Internet Time tab and uncheck the box that mentions updating the time from the Internet. Be forewarned that, if you set it too far off, you may run into problems using the Internet. To be safe, use the timezone feature to set the hour, and keep the date the same.

If this doesn't fix your problem, then you likely have a rogue program. Or worse, a virus.

-reply by trlkly

#14 Guest_(G)johnrockfellerz_*

Guest_(G)johnrockfellerz_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 May 2011 - 12:44 PM

A tool for an auditing of Active Directory, Member and File ServersDisable Or Limit Access To The Control Panel

ADAudit Plus is a valuable security tool that will help you be compliant with all the IT regulatory acts. With this tool, you can monitor user activity such as logon, file access, etc. A configurable alert system warns you of potential threats.

-reply by johnrockfellerz





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users