Jump to content



Welcome to AstaHost - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!

Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  styleseye : (24 April 2014 - 02:29 PM) Https://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=Https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Geh4Rs-Boh8&feature=Youtu.be&h=Taqexxpem
@  styleseye : (24 April 2014 - 02:28 PM) Https://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=Https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Geh4Rs-Boh8&feature=Youtu.be&h=Taqexxpem
@  yordan : (21 April 2014 - 09:11 PM) Hey, Ritesh, Did You Hear Me?
@  yordan : (14 April 2014 - 05:28 PM) By The Way, This Could Be An Interesting Subject For A Topic, What About Posting This Question? Let's See If Other People Have The Same Feeling Concerning Bootlists!
@  yordan : (13 April 2014 - 09:36 AM) Boot Order : Cd, [Usb,] Hard Drive :D
@  yordan : (11 April 2014 - 07:23 PM) I Simply Let The Bios Do That
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:23 AM) Is It Possible To Launch Fedora Live Cd Or Installation Disk From Hard Drive On Windows Platform Using Grub Mbr File.
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:21 AM) No U Are Not.. Btw.. I Have Question For You.
@  yordan : (10 April 2014 - 08:02 AM) You Are Partially Right.
I Was Not.
Nevertheless, I Am Again :)
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) :P
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) I Think U R Not..
@  yordan : (09 April 2014 - 09:28 AM) I'm The Master Of The Shoutbox!
@  yordan : (05 April 2014 - 10:32 PM) He-He
@  Ritesh : (04 April 2014 - 06:59 PM) Ha Ha Ha ....
@  yordan : (04 April 2014 - 11:15 AM) Welcome Back, Starscream!
@  yordan : (03 April 2014 - 02:31 PM) And I Hope That He Will Come Back Soon :)
@  yordan : (01 April 2014 - 02:53 PM) Nice, Ritesh Came, I'm Not Home Alone Today.
@  Ritesh : (01 April 2014 - 08:51 AM) Oh!!! Poor Dear Yordan..
@  yordan : (31 March 2014 - 10:02 AM) I'm A Poor Lonesome Cow-Boy
@  yordan : (27 March 2014 - 02:22 PM) He Is Unpatient Due To His Patients!

Photo
- - - - -

Dual Monitors? Single Vs. Dual Monitors


23 replies to this topic

#1 EkkO

EkkO

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 10 February 2005 - 03:44 AM

Just bought a new ati radeon x700 pro and was wondering if I should run dual monitors on it. I want to be able to play games like half life 2 and doom on it, but I hear from other people that it can make the gameplay slower and laggier. I don't know if it's true or not and that's why I need your help. It's a toss-up because I do a lot of editing and the dual-monitor configuration would be really nice, but I also like to game. Please help me!

#2 madmax

madmax

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 10 February 2005 - 06:55 AM

Dual monitors can be good for gameplay as you have a truly panoramic experience. I dont know about the lagging to which you referred. When using an editing program like Adobe Premiere, dual monitors becomes extremely advantageous because you can spread all the palletes and windows out. The X700 pro supports overlay so video editing on dual monitors should be fine. Also, since the computer only sees one "widescreen" video card most the dialog boxes will pop up right in the middle with half being on each monitor.

#3 miCRoSCoPiC^eaRthLinG

miCRoSCoPiC^eaRthLinG

    PsYcheDeLiC dR3aMeR

  • Members
  • 2,248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangkok, Thailand
  • Interests:Photography, Magic Tricks, Numismatics & Philately to some extent, Being a nuisance in general (that's my favourite)
  • myCENTs:NEGATIVE[-21.50]

Posted 10 February 2005 - 02:22 PM

Haha cool.. I've always wanted to have a dual display - but never got around to setting it up.. From a designers perspective it does seem that I'll be great help in having all your tools and designing screen so well spaced out - Leaves a lot more room to concentrate on what you are doing and avoid all that ugly cluttering of tools...

Now my question is: what about those dialog boxes that are displayed right in the middle - do they split up and (lol) show one half each on each of the monitors ?? Or you can customize them somehow to pop up as whole on either screen... ??

#4 Trekkie101

Trekkie101

    Teh Teckeh Trekkeh

  • Members
  • 682 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK

Posted 10 February 2005 - 08:30 PM

Yeah Ive always wondered how they worked with spliting properly. but I can imagine it must be pretty cool to have. Imagine 2 24" plasma screens, pure heaven. lol

#5 harriko

harriko

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 279 posts

Posted 10 February 2005 - 08:41 PM

yeh same here as a web desginer. i want to set it up but the only thing i need is another monitor. if your talking about playing doom3 or halflife2 on one screen and the other screen to do other stuff, in my theroy, it wil slow your pc down so much. as doom3 and halflife2 needs high requirements to play on your system. is will be possible if you have the most powerful pc in the world.

#6 kevlar557

kevlar557

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Ashtabula, Ohio USA

Posted 10 February 2005 - 09:10 PM

I play hl2 with all settings on high, with a dual monitor set-up. I can see no choppiness at all. I have even played winamp with a full screen visualization on one monitor, and hl2 on the other.

#7 szupie

szupie

    S.P.A.M.S.W.A.T.

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2005 - 11:41 AM

Why would you use Dual Monitors? Wouldn't that stretch the whole screen horizontally? Why not Quardruple Monitors? And also, wouldn't the side of both screens where there is no display, but only the plastic protection, make a gap in the abutting monitors?

#8 marijnnn

marijnnn

    Premium Member

  • [HOSTED]
  • 336 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 02:10 PM

well, there wouldn't be missing parts if that's what you mean. if you move your mouse, the moment you go out of one screen, you're on the other. there isn't a gap between them.

about the lag... it would only be normal if there was one. videocard would have to make more calculations for the splitting & stuff, + a double resolution.
but if you have an ati card, you can easily shut one screen down temporary for playing games and then switch it back on when doing graphic stuff.
but the modern cards can handle dual screen. just try it out.

#9 qwijibow

qwijibow

    Way Out Of Control - You need a life :)

  • Members
  • 1,366 posts
  • Location:Nottingham England
  • Interests:Computer / nerd related things (who would have guessed)<br />also. the following cartoons...<br /><br />South Park<br />King of the hill<br />Family guy<br />Sponge Bob Square pants<br />Simpsons

Posted 11 February 2005 - 05:06 PM

i could get used to dual monitors quite easily...
i have 4 virtual destops on my monitor, and i make heavy use of them

basically to seperate downlods / compiling's from things like web browsers chat windows / hatever.

#10 wwheeler

wwheeler

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Marietta, GA

Posted 11 February 2005 - 05:39 PM

The only reason I have dual monitors is for my America's Army gaming...

I run the game on one screen, and a product called team speak on the other..

But I have not noticed any lagging in the speed of the game...

#11 szupie

szupie

    S.P.A.M.S.W.A.T.

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2005 - 10:57 AM

well, there wouldn't be missing parts if that's what you mean. if you move your mouse, the moment you go out of one screen, you're on the other. there isn't a gap between them.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I don't mean a gap, I meant... The screens would be seperated by the space that isn't the display around the monitor. Doesn't every monitor have that?

#12 amkrisis

amkrisis

    Newbie [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 February 2005 - 12:38 PM

Just bought a new ati radeon x700 pro and was wondering if I should run dual monitors on it. I want to be able to play games like half life 2 and doom on it, but I hear from other people that it can make the gameplay slower and laggier. I don't know if it's true or not and that's why I need your help. It's a toss-up because I do a lot of editing and the dual-monitor configuration would be really nice, but I also like to game. Please help me!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


i'm using a dual monitor configuration on my G4 powerbook, using my old 15" CRT at 1240ish in res. I don't know of it's an option or setting on windows based os'es but i can switch back to single display to play games, so that only one monitor is being used, and so, can use all the GPU power

#13 gangsta_zar

gangsta_zar

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:computers, web design, guitar

Posted 13 February 2005 - 03:29 AM

Here's a site that sells 5 screen monitors (go-l.com). They are in the middle of switching websites right now, but the products they have to offer are amazing. Has anyone ever seen 5 screen monitors like this from any other company?

#14 EkkO

EkkO

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 14 February 2005 - 12:53 AM

Yea I've been playing hl2 on my card today and it's been flawless. I have my desktop on one monitor, then the game on the other, so i can do other things like write essays or respond to aim convos when i'm waiting in CS:S. I don't think I will ever go back to a single monitor. This is heaven and i'd recommend it to anyone.

#15 SingleDaddyof2

SingleDaddyof2

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts
  • Location:So. Cal.
  • Interests:Improving my webmaster skills &amp; my baseball card collection

Posted 14 February 2005 - 01:08 PM

Why would you use Dual Monitors? Wouldn't that stretch the whole screen horizontally? Why not Quardruple Monitors? And also, wouldn't the side of both screens where there is no display, but only the plastic protection, make a gap in the abutting monitors?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I use dual monitors--wish I had Quadruple monitors, lol. What a huge time saver! It is so convenient when creating my webpages. I just click 'save' on my text editor on one monitor and refresh my browser in the other monitor and almost instantly see the modified webpage, thereby eliminating switching back & forth between windows on one monitor. Also great for many other apps.

With my ATI Hydravision, I can have active windows stretch across both monitors I wanted to or only one. Here's a couple of links for more multi-monitor information:

Dual Monitor Setup Saves Time
Multi-Monitor FAQ

#16 Vagodeoz

Vagodeoz

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 205 posts

Posted 09 March 2005 - 04:48 PM

As far as I have heard, dual monitors are used for few things, especially for Audio Recording Studios.

#17 silverkirfsco

silverkirfsco

    Member [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 10 March 2005 - 04:50 AM

in order to use duel monitors, you will need a video card that supports it

it can be good for games but might slow the game down because it will require more processing

it can also be good for other applications where you need to keep track of a lot of things

#18 Vagodeoz

Vagodeoz

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 205 posts

Posted 15 March 2005 - 03:15 PM

Does it work for games? I mean... let's take Medal of Honor. The gun is in the middle of the screen, so if the screen is splitted in 2 monitors, there would be half a gun in each screen?
Or how does it work? becouse if it splits half and half, then I say it's a baaaaaaad idea, maybe unless both monitors are extremly close.

#19 thermoid

thermoid

    Member [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Chicago, IL
  • Interests:Programming, gaming, bleeding-edgehardware, explosions, cute girls, sunsets, and thunderstorms. ;-)

Posted 19 March 2005 - 08:32 PM

Dual monitors can be good for gameplay as you have a truly panoramic experience. I dont know about the lagging to which you referred. When using an editing program like Adobe Premiere, dual monitors becomes extremely advantageous because you can spread all the palletes and windows out. The X700 pro supports overlay so video editing on dual monitors should be fine. Also, since the computer only sees one "widescreen" video card most the dialog boxes will pop up right in the middle with half being on each monitor.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


nVidia has a feature to prevent that from happening.

#20 thermoid

thermoid

    Member [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Chicago, IL
  • Interests:Programming, gaming, bleeding-edgehardware, explosions, cute girls, sunsets, and thunderstorms. ;-)

Posted 19 March 2005 - 08:35 PM

and the great majoridy of games DO NOT SUPPORT DUALVIEW!!! they will blank out a screen! It is a greater tax on the GPU too, as i cannot use my S-Video and the DVI connectors with out overriding an overheat protection.



Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Google (1)