Jump to content



Welcome to AstaHost - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!

Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  yordan : (14 April 2014 - 05:28 PM) By The Way, This Could Be An Interesting Subject For A Topic, What About Posting This Question? Let's See If Other People Have The Same Feeling Concerning Bootlists!
@  yordan : (13 April 2014 - 09:36 AM) Boot Order : Cd, [Usb,] Hard Drive :D
@  yordan : (11 April 2014 - 07:23 PM) I Simply Let The Bios Do That
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:23 AM) Is It Possible To Launch Fedora Live Cd Or Installation Disk From Hard Drive On Windows Platform Using Grub Mbr File.
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:21 AM) No U Are Not.. Btw.. I Have Question For You.
@  yordan : (10 April 2014 - 08:02 AM) You Are Partially Right.
I Was Not.
Nevertheless, I Am Again :)
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) :P
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) I Think U R Not..
@  yordan : (09 April 2014 - 09:28 AM) I'm The Master Of The Shoutbox!
@  yordan : (05 April 2014 - 10:32 PM) He-He
@  Ritesh : (04 April 2014 - 06:59 PM) Ha Ha Ha ....
@  yordan : (04 April 2014 - 11:15 AM) Welcome Back, Starscream!
@  yordan : (03 April 2014 - 02:31 PM) And I Hope That He Will Come Back Soon :)
@  yordan : (01 April 2014 - 02:53 PM) Nice, Ritesh Came, I'm Not Home Alone Today.
@  Ritesh : (01 April 2014 - 08:51 AM) Oh!!! Poor Dear Yordan..
@  yordan : (31 March 2014 - 10:02 AM) I'm A Poor Lonesome Cow-Boy
@  yordan : (27 March 2014 - 02:22 PM) He Is Unpatient Due To His Patients!
@  Ritesh : (27 March 2014 - 10:46 AM) :(
@  Ritesh : (27 March 2014 - 10:46 AM) He Is Busy With His Patients.
@  yordan : (26 March 2014 - 08:12 PM) Ahsani, Where Are You?

Photo
- - - - -

What Kind Of Processor Should I Get?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
25 replies to this topic

#1 kc8yff

kc8yff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted 23 January 2005 - 09:20 PM

I'm having a problem deciding which type of processor I should get. I am looking at AMD Sempron. What do you think?

Edited by miCRoSCoPiC^eaRthLinG, 20 December 2005 - 12:50 PM.


#2 pixelsmack

pixelsmack

    Member - Active Contributor

  • Members
  • 80 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 24 January 2005 - 11:09 AM

i'm running a sempron 2400XP at the moment and its a very good chip. however if you are after a high budget chip i would go for one of the new P4's they are very very fast. my house mate is running one and he dropped his 64bit AMD (not literally) when he tried the new p4's, so y the sounds they are the best high-end chip although i think the sempron is a very good processor for the price.

#3 JimBeam

JimBeam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 24 January 2005 - 11:47 AM

I personally prefer AMD. I bought my AMD Athlon64 3000+ mid last year and I love it. It wasn't too expensive back then, so I'd imagine you could get something a lot better for a decent price now. It's up to you though, and I guess it may depend on what you're going to use your computer for. I recently started a poll asking the question "AMD or Intel?"... it has quite a few replies with peoples opinions on the 2 CPU's, so for a better idea of what these people would suggest, have a loot at that thread. It's called "AMD or P4?".

#4 darul0r

darul0r

    Member [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 31 January 2005 - 08:20 PM

buy my system!! its the best you can get!!

buy a athloXP 2500+ with barton-core!
buy a ABIT NF7 !! these too are sooooo great together! you can by a good cooler for the CPU and then you can easily overclock up to 3000+! :)

and if you have a really really good cooling system you can overclock till 6,6 GHz !!

have fun!!

#5 wanhafizi

wanhafizi

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 145 posts

Posted 01 February 2005 - 02:47 AM

and if you have a really really good cooling system you can overclock till 6,6 GHz !!


i've heard that before. it will void your processors warranty.

i've heard about 64bits processors. is it better? in what ways?

#6 the empty calorie

the empty calorie

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 254 posts

Posted 01 February 2005 - 03:38 AM

The only good thing about getting a 64-bit processor now, is that you'll have the hardware needed to run Microsoft's next OS, although, I don't plan on ever running it. Currently, Microsoft OS'es don't really utilize 64-bit technology too well. you can run the 32-bit software with the 64-bit processors AMD currently offers, but the 32-bit emulation is going to slow things down...But honestly, if you want a GOOD processor...Don't settle for anything CISC-based (like Intel Pentium, AMD Athlon, etc...). CISC processors technically, were rendered obsolete in the mid-90's. I think it's time for the x86 to die, after being pushed for over 20 years, don't you? Stop beating the dead horse.

If you want high-end:
What you want is a RISC-based processor, and I would have to recommend three kinds of processors for this. SPARC, ALPHA, and PowerPC. The UltraSPARC, ALPHA, and PowerPC 970 Series (G5) are all 64-bit processors, and actually have OS'es and programs that put this technology to good use (unlike Microsoft). Also, the PowerPC 970 does a great job with handling legacy PowerPC programs. The PowerPC has always had a 64-bit core, but the 970 gives you a 64-bit data bus. But even if you want to choose the 32-bit path, PowerPC 7400 (G4) isn't a bad choice either. And if you don't like Macintoshes, remember, there are other PowerPC computers available than the Macintosh...you can even build your own in an ATX case.

I predict the switch from 32 to 64-bit technology is going to be VERY rocky for x86 users...and may very well kill Microsoft in the process. Other companies have already made the switch years ago, and Apple is in the process, but they're managing to do it quite smoothly...But Microsoft doesn't make the hardware that it's software runs on, now does it?

Here, read this...this will tell you everything you need to know about RISC, and RISC vs CISC..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RISC

#7 tattoopunk

tattoopunk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 176 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  • Interests:Tattoos, Piercings, Web Design, Graphic Design, Linux, Art

Posted 01 February 2005 - 04:37 AM

don't forget not alot of programs are designed to fully use the AMD 64's, but it's not going to be much longer, so I'd say go AMD now. Its a great processor, and I have had 0 problems with it lagging and I do a lot of design work!

#8 wanhafizi

wanhafizi

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 145 posts

Posted 01 February 2005 - 05:12 AM

ok.
can you answer this question:
i want to have WINDOWS as my OS. prefebably, i'll use XP. so what's the best processor to use, regardless the price? thanks

#9 the empty calorie

the empty calorie

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 254 posts

Posted 01 February 2005 - 08:53 AM

If price is of no concern. Alpha. There are versions of Windows for Alpha processors...these things, even at slower clock speeds, will beat the hell out of any offerings from Intel or AMD...Hell, they might even make a Version of Windows for MIPS processors...either way, if you can find a version of windows for either Alpha, SPARC, or MIPS processors, or even PowerPC, go with one of those processors... I can guarantee you, RISC is worth it...RISC is good...

#10 qwijibow

qwijibow

    Way Out Of Control - You need a life :)

  • Members
  • 1,366 posts
  • Location:Nottingham England
  • Interests:Computer / nerd related things (who would have guessed)<br />also. the following cartoons...<br /><br />South Park<br />King of the hill<br />Family guy<br />Sponge Bob Square pants<br />Simpsons

Posted 01 February 2005 - 12:25 PM

I tend to avoid Pentium, they get way too hot, and they are trailing behind AMD in the 64bit market.

64bit processors will run native 32bit operating systems,
and 64bit operating systems can run 32bit software.. Operating systems like Linux can do this nativly, but with windows, you have to use emulation... which will slow things down a bit.

if your planning on sticking with your new CPU for a good few years, 64bit is the future.. but 32but will be around for a while yet.

im running an AMD 64 3400+ on 64but Gentoo Linux... and its amasing !!!

my motherboard and cpu suppport somthing called amd powerNow.
it alters the voltage and frequency of your cpu to match load...

my system is running on low volatage 1Ghz... but if cpu useage rises above 90% it accellerates, all the way up to 2.4Ghz with hivgher voltage.

so when you are just web broswing, your system stays super quiet, and super cool... then the fans and 2.4Ghz jump up when you launch doom3 :)

#11 wanhafizi

wanhafizi

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 145 posts

Posted 01 February 2005 - 03:07 PM

wow, the empty calorie. i was more thinking about desktop system. but thanks for the info anyway. i didnt know Alpha is avaliable for Win.

I tend to avoid Pentium, they get way too hot, and they are trailing behind AMD in the 64bit market.


i thought Pentium is good at controlling heat. am i wrong?

anyway, if i m using windows, then it is better to stay with 32bit?

#12 jipman

jipman

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 733 posts

Posted 01 February 2005 - 03:37 PM

Ehm dude, the P4 Presscot heats up to 60 C while idle.

The AMD 64 doesnt get hotter than 30 C

:)

#13 MajesticTreeFrog

MajesticTreeFrog

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 692 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 February 2005 - 03:38 PM

wow, the empty calorie. i was more thinking about desktop system. but thanks for the info anyway. i didnt know Alpha is avaliable for Win.
i thought Pentium is good at controlling heat. am i wrong?

anyway, if i m using windows, then it is better to stay with 32bit?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


No, you wanna move to 64 bit. That is where everything is going. Buying 32bit is buying old tech. If you were buying a laptop, that would be fine. But don't get a 32 bit processor for a desktop.

#14 qwijibow

qwijibow

    Way Out Of Control - You need a life :)

  • Members
  • 1,366 posts
  • Location:Nottingham England
  • Interests:Computer / nerd related things (who would have guessed)<br />also. the following cartoons...<br /><br />South Park<br />King of the hill<br />Family guy<br />Sponge Bob Square pants<br />Simpsons

Posted 01 February 2005 - 03:52 PM

i agree with going 64bit... however they wont drop 32bit overnight.

im no expert, but im willing to bet that by the time they drop 32 bit support, your currently state of the art processor will be getting dated, ready for a update.

since 32bit is being replaced, it will be quite cheap...
so you could save money staying with 32bit... but for future upgradability and compatability.... 64bit is the way to go.

and go for AMD...:)
cooler, cheaper, AMDPowerNow-K8 rocks !, shorter pipelines, and fewer clocks per bogomip :P

#15 MajesticTreeFrog

MajesticTreeFrog

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 692 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 February 2005 - 04:16 PM

i agree with going 64bit... however they wont drop 32bit overnight.

im no expert, but im willing to bet that by the time they drop 32 bit support, your currently state of the art processor will be getting dated, ready for a update.

since 32bit is being replaced, it will be quite cheap...
so you could save money staying with 32bit... but for future upgradability and compatability.... 64bit is the way to go.

and go for AMD...:)
cooler, cheaper, AMDPowerNow-K8 rocks !, shorter pipelines, and fewer clocks per bogomip :P

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Indeed, AMD is my current favorite for processors. I wish apple could hook up with them and get their help along with IBM and Motorola to build the PPC processors they use.

#16 xboxrulz

xboxrulz

    Colonel Panic

  • Members
  • 3,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • myCENTs:59.15

Posted 20 December 2005 - 01:24 AM

I agree with the empty calorie, but where do you get hold of a PowerPC 970 from? (I'm from Toronto, Canada). I would really want to get a G5 based processor. Yet, for the original poster, if you don't want to get a PPC (RISC-based) processor, I recommend you to get an AMD 64 processor since 64-bit is the way to go currently. 32-bit is becoming an antique technology soon.

xboxrulz

#17 lisim

lisim

    Member [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 20 December 2005 - 08:36 AM

the current P4 do not sit at 60 idle unless ur refering to F not C mine is ezy at 30 idle and max i have seen is 42C

#18 xboxrulz

xboxrulz

    Colonel Panic

  • Members
  • 3,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • myCENTs:59.15

Posted 20 December 2005 - 07:43 PM

if its 60 degrees Fahrenheit, it would be too cold. It must be in Celsius I guess. Never had that problem. My Pentium 4 chip runs about 42 degrees Celsius too..


xboxrulz

#19 lisim

lisim

    Member [ Level 1 ]

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 21 December 2005 - 07:56 AM

yea they must have bad cooling or a tight built case but 42 was on a 38 degree heat day so it was hot any way

#20 cyborgxxi

cyborgxxi

    Premium Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 21 December 2005 - 08:14 AM

Laugh my butt off - the fans jump up and your CPu goes up to 2.4 GHz when you launch Doom 3 huh... hahahaha that's a really funny expression! :P :huh: Man, I think it's time for me to get a new processor / motherboard too!

I have a Intel Pentium 4 2.0 GHz (5 years ago) and do you think it was a good piece of hardware back then? Because man, LOOK AT THIS::

I WAS USING A 170W POWER SUPPLY FOR 4.5 YEARS UNTIL A COUPLE MONTHS BACK!! - No wonder my computer was shutting off while trying to play games :) :P




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users