Jump to content



Welcome to AstaHost - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!

Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  styleseye : (24 April 2014 - 02:29 PM) Https://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=Https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Geh4Rs-Boh8&feature=Youtu.be&h=Taqexxpem
@  styleseye : (24 April 2014 - 02:28 PM) Https://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=Https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Geh4Rs-Boh8&feature=Youtu.be&h=Taqexxpem
@  yordan : (21 April 2014 - 09:11 PM) Hey, Ritesh, Did You Hear Me?
@  yordan : (14 April 2014 - 05:28 PM) By The Way, This Could Be An Interesting Subject For A Topic, What About Posting This Question? Let's See If Other People Have The Same Feeling Concerning Bootlists!
@  yordan : (13 April 2014 - 09:36 AM) Boot Order : Cd, [Usb,] Hard Drive :D
@  yordan : (11 April 2014 - 07:23 PM) I Simply Let The Bios Do That
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:23 AM) Is It Possible To Launch Fedora Live Cd Or Installation Disk From Hard Drive On Windows Platform Using Grub Mbr File.
@  Ritesh : (11 April 2014 - 10:21 AM) No U Are Not.. Btw.. I Have Question For You.
@  yordan : (10 April 2014 - 08:02 AM) You Are Partially Right.
I Was Not.
Nevertheless, I Am Again :)
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) :P
@  Ritesh : (09 April 2014 - 07:33 PM) I Think U R Not..
@  yordan : (09 April 2014 - 09:28 AM) I'm The Master Of The Shoutbox!
@  yordan : (05 April 2014 - 10:32 PM) He-He
@  Ritesh : (04 April 2014 - 06:59 PM) Ha Ha Ha ....
@  yordan : (04 April 2014 - 11:15 AM) Welcome Back, Starscream!
@  yordan : (03 April 2014 - 02:31 PM) And I Hope That He Will Come Back Soon :)
@  yordan : (01 April 2014 - 02:53 PM) Nice, Ritesh Came, I'm Not Home Alone Today.
@  Ritesh : (01 April 2014 - 08:51 AM) Oh!!! Poor Dear Yordan..
@  yordan : (31 March 2014 - 10:02 AM) I'm A Poor Lonesome Cow-Boy
@  yordan : (27 March 2014 - 02:22 PM) He Is Unpatient Due To His Patients!

Photo
* * * * - 1 votes

Internet Speed Test Internet Speed Test, Post your results here


17 replies to this topic

#1 Ajay Shivaa

Ajay Shivaa

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 15 July 2007 - 10:06 AM

Hai ,

I have introduced a Bandwidth Speed Test Service in my website located @ http://www.jbi.in

I request you to post your speed test results here :

First let me start :

Service Provider Details :

Service Provider : Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited .
Pvt / Govt. : Government Service.
Location : India.
Promised Speed : Upto 2 mbps
Rental : Rs 250 per month ( nearly $6 per month ) [ 1$ = Rs 40]

Speed Test Results :


My Ip : 59.92.113.38 ( Note your ip will be displayed when speed test result
is shown )
My Speed : 784.90kbps
Download Speed : 98.11 KB/sec
Postion : DSL.

Please try to use the same format for posting your results !!!


If you like our service please link to us. ( link url : http://www.jbi.in)

Please don't post fake speed test results . If anyone doubts just pm me the ip address and speed result I will verify whether the member has posted genuine result .



#2 Sten

Sten

    Oh come on Mrs. B!

  • Members
  • 648 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania, Australia

Posted 15 July 2007 - 11:08 AM

my internet is going too slow atm.
ill do it maybe when its at normal speed.

i no another good site for speed test, speedtest.net

#3 dserban

dserban

    Premium Member

  • [HOSTED]
  • 286 posts

Posted 15 July 2007 - 11:30 AM

Mine says:
Your current bandwidth reading is:
450.40kbps

It's nice to have a very simple bandwidth tester to point your friends to.

speedtest.net is OK, but I don't like two things about it:
- it's flash based
- you have to select a server yourself (this might be its strength in other people's opinion)

Does anyone know a purely text based bandwidth tester site?

I remember seeing a Youtube video a while ago where they took pictures of the same dual-boot PC connecting to a purely text based bandwidth tester site, first under Windows XP, then under Ubuntu, and making a point about the difference in speed.
But I couldn't catch the name of the site.

#4 Sten

Sten

    Oh come on Mrs. B!

  • Members
  • 648 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania, Australia

Posted 15 July 2007 - 11:35 AM

The thing i dont like about speedtest.net is that it thinks im in victoria, but im in tasmania, so it doesnt completely work well.

Cnet have a speed test thing, its got pictures but its fairly text based.
its... i cant remember :P but yeah youll have to look.

#5 dserban

dserban

    Premium Member

  • [HOSTED]
  • 286 posts

Posted 15 July 2007 - 12:13 PM

I found it, thanks.
It's under
http://reviews.cnet....4-7254_7-0.html

and it's giving me a reading of 364kbps ... hmmmmm ... :P

#6 FirefoxRocks

FirefoxRocks

    Super Member

  • [HOSTED]
  • 988 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada
  • myCENTs:92.36

Posted 17 July 2007 - 04:29 AM

My results under this:

Service Provider Details :

Service Provider : Shaw Cablesystems
Location : Calgary, Alberta Canada
Promised Speed : 5x faster than dial-up (lite-speed)
Rental : Don't know because bundled with cable services

Speed Test Results :

My IP : 24.109.***.**
My Speed : 154.20kbps
Download Speed : 19.28 KB/sec
Position : ISDN/DSL

This speed test is somewhat inaccurate though, I have disabled QoS, am using Firefox, cache is at 50MB, I tested at off-peak hours and the speed is around only 20kB/sec. I have reached download speeds of 30-35kb/sec consistently and a maximum speed of 50 kb/sec for like a moment or two. This however is using the DownThemAll! extension for Firefox.

By the way, you have 1 tiny XHTML error in your site, <div align="center"> when using Strict. Just thought I'd let you know.

#7 dserban

dserban

    Premium Member

  • [HOSTED]
  • 286 posts

Posted 18 July 2007 - 08:24 AM

I'm not sure whether I should start a new topic for this question, but I am curious to know if you are happy with DownThemAll ... have you tested FlashGet and you didn't like it, then switched to DownThemAll ... can you make a comparison.
I currently have neither because I don't understand the concept of an accelerator. Specifically, I don't get how you can "steal" from your ISP more juice than they give you by using traffic shaping tools.
But someone might be able to convince me.

#8 Jimmy89

Jimmy89

    Living at the Datacenter

  • [HOSTED]
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • myCENTs:14.01

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:53 PM

the way most accelerators work is by caching websites in the background, so that when you want to visit them, they are already in the 'cache', they don't have to be downloaded and are displayed. I'm pretty sure how most of them work (i may be mistaken though). So really, your not 'stealing' juice from the ISP, your just looking at the pages, stored on your hard drive!
-jimmy

#9 toby

toby

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 611 posts

Posted 18 July 2007 - 02:02 PM

the way most accelerators work is by caching websites in the background, so that when you want to visit them, they are already in the 'cache', they don't have to be downloaded and are displayed. I'm pretty sure how most of them work (i may be mistaken though). So really, your not 'stealing' juice from the ISP, your just looking at the pages, stored on your hard drive!
-jimmy

The FF addon actually gets pages from the internet too. Like Opera's fast foward, it guesses your next move, you can set it to guess a lot of clicks (meaning more pages are preloaded). But Opera's is just one button, no preloading. Much better.

#10 knight17

knight17

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 145 posts

Posted 18 July 2007 - 08:23 PM

:P

Am still on a crappy ***old dial-up connection***
It says its speed is 115.5 while connecting and in reality I get around 120 sometimes, not even 56 sometimes.

#11 WeaponX

WeaponX

    Way Out Of Control - You need a life :)

  • Members
  • 1,086 posts
  • Location:New York
  • myCENTs:86.41

Posted 19 July 2007 - 10:23 PM

@knight17: You most likely have a ISDN connection there, so that's still better than dial up. Dial-up can reach up to 56kbps but never does. So anything over that (especially over 100kbps) is ISDN or higher (cable/DSL, etc.).

Ran the test and currently rated to be downloading at 209.71kb/sec. Probably could be a bit faster if I paused my downloads. Currently downloading and it's probably throwing off some of the stats :P

#12 Ajay Shivaa

Ajay Shivaa

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 20 July 2007 - 05:52 PM

This speed test is somewhat inaccurate though, I have disabled QoS, am using Firefox, cache is at 50MB, I tested at off-peak hours and the speed is around only 20kB/sec. I have reached download speeds of 30-35kb/sec consistently and a maximum speed of 50 kb/sec for like a moment or two. This however is using the DownThemAll! extension for Firefox.

Did you try retest option.

By the way, you have 1 tiny XHTML error in your site, <div align="center"> when using Strict. Just thought I'd let you know.


Yes , I am aware of it. But i want to know the alternative to be used in its place can you please help me ! Validate my home page . It is 100 % pure xhtml

#13 hamza

hamza

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 22 July 2007 - 07:49 AM

i have 1900 kb/sec. i did not think that i have so much speed. thanks for the website

Edited by hamza, 22 July 2007 - 07:49 AM.


#14 Guest_FeedBacker_*

Guest_FeedBacker_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 January 2008 - 02:00 PM

internet speed test
Internet Speed Test

Broadbandspeedstest.Com

Test your Internet connection bandwidth to locations around the world with this interactive broadband speed test.


-internet speed test

#15 Guest_(G)sweety_*

Guest_(G)sweety_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 December 2009 - 06:46 AM

speed testInternet Speed Test

Hi,

My speed test is 

5.32kbps(downloading) & 1.25kbps(uploading)...I checked I speed test here http://www.Ip-details.Com/   It provides download speed,upload speed,search and

-reply by sweety

#16 Guest_(G)Vj_*

Guest_(G)Vj_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 February 2010 - 01:47 AM

My speed test resultsInternet Speed Test

hey I'm on a cable modem in alberta canada   the line I subscribe to is called an extreme Line from my cablc company  Shaw communications

 

I just tested, my results are

 

Download @ 16852kbps

Upload @ 978kbps

 

 

For this I think I pay like 70 dollars cdn Monthly

What I run   Realtek dual gigbit lan  "Both ports are supplyed thru a router" on a Gigabit DQ6 Ati chipset Motherboard

 

MY Thoery

 

First speed test right now write it down and keep the results

 

  if you have a dual gigabit lan then get a router

 

route your connection thru the router and then use the router to supply both of your dual lan ports !

 

Second open your flow controls on your lan cards to there full potential  of one gigabit

 

then bridge your network connections  with a network bridge 

 

then test your speed ! see if there is a diffrence   also always test your computer  in the morning when you wake up then again at about 7:30  thats a high network load time for most places when everybodys home from work and surfing the net

 

 

now compare these to the reading you took to begin with

 

 

The thoery @ work

 

By opening your duplex to the full potential of your lan cards your enableing your lan to  intake that speed of throughput

 

now lets be serious unless your subscribeing to to a T+ line then your never gonna see anywhere near a gigabit of internet speed 

 

 

but when your network is slow and theres not many users on basically all day untill most people come home from work and then days when your networks not tied up

 

then your sent speed is going to fluctuate   and when it does there will be either more or less bandwith to share on the networks

 

soooooo   your lan will intake the extra bandwith avalible and make it usable to you

 

maybe I'm just talking out my ass but thats how I see it and it seems to work for me the guy upstairs from me

his test results running a single gigabit lan were

 

7874kbps Download

and 664kbps Upload

 

and he has the same type of connections as I do  the difference

 

hes not bridged his duplex is set to 10mbps

 

Enjoy or don't

 

Cheers

 

 

Keywords: fake speed test

#17 Quatrux

Quatrux

    the Q

  • [HOSTED]
  • 1,669 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lithuania, Vilnius
  • Interests:PHP, MySQL, Oracle, PL/SQL, HTML, CSS, Javascript, jQuery, C# Computers, Alternative OS, Amiga, MorphOS, Beer, Friends, Linux, KDE..
  • myCENTs:30.76

Posted 17 February 2010 - 06:46 PM

I couldn't find the speed test on the first post, but I just did it with the popular speedtest.net:

So here are my results:

Posted Image

But on 11 PM to 7 AM I'm getting quite higher download, theoretically 10 mbits, but it's different to foreign countries.

#18 dangerdan

dangerdan

    Member [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bham, uk
  • myCENTs:54.56

Posted 19 February 2010 - 09:45 AM

You can download @ 224.56 KB/sec

I know for a fact that I can download up to 4x faster than this (i.e 1 MB/sec) and that nobody else is using my internet at the moment (they're all asleep still!) though 250KB/sec ish is still more than fast enough, though we're going to see huge improvements in internet speeds over the coming decades, rising as high as 250MB/sec up to 1GB/sec and beyond..



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users