Jump to content



Welcome to AstaHost - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!
Photo
- - - - -

A Security Warning


4 replies to this topic

#1 gladiator_us

gladiator_us

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 November 2004 - 06:07 AM

HIGH PRIORITY warning about mobiles and emails ...
If you receive a phone call on your mobile from any person, saying that,
he or she is a company engineer, or telling that they're checking your mobile
line, and you have to press # 90 or #09 or any other number. End this call
immediately without pressing any numbers.

There is a fraud company using a device that once you press 90 or #09 they
can access your "SIM" card and make calls at your expense. Forward this
message to as many friends as you can, to stop it.

VERY IMPORTANT WARNING ALSO ...

Please Be Extremely Careful especially if using internet mail such as
Yahoo, Hotmail and so on. This information arrived this morning from Microsoft
and Norton. Please [FORWARD] it to everybody you know who accesses to the
Internet.

You may receive an apparently harmless email with a Power Point
presentation "Life is beautiful. pps". If you receive it DO NOT OPEN THE FILE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, and delete it immediately. if you open this file, a message will appear on your screen saying, "It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful", subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC and the
person who sent it to you will gain access to your name, e-mail and password.
This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday afternoon. AOL
has already confirmed the severity, and the
<a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=<a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=<a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=antivirus software">antivirus software</a>"><a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=antivirus software">arch.php?qq=antivi</a></a>"><a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=<a target="_blank" href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=antivirus software">gt;
him</a>">it. The virus has </a></a>'s
are currently not capable of destroying it. The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself "life owner".

#2 d-and-d

d-and-d

    Newbie [ Level 2 ]

  • [HOSTED]
  • 27 posts

Posted 15 November 2004 - 09:50 PM

Thanks for the tips, I didn't know about the life owner one, although I have been having phone calls where somebody else can charge you for a while. THe only thing to do is hang up guys (or if it's a human voice you could blow a whistle down the phone and bust his ear drums :P

#3 FirefoxRocks

FirefoxRocks

    Super Member

  • [HOSTED]
  • 988 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada
  • myCENTs:92.36

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:30 AM

Both of these are hoaxes. The first one, is classified as "a mixture of true and false information", and is posted on Snopes as such: http://snopes.com/fr...ne/jailcall.asp

The second one has been going around since I was using dial-up Internet back in grade 2 I believe, and is also a hoax as such published in Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia....iful_virus_hoax

Perhaps you should consider verifying the source of information as well as the authenticity of the information before passing it on to others :)

#4 yordan

yordan

    Way Out Of Control - You need a life :)

  • [MODERATOR]
  • 4,677 posts

Posted 27 November 2011 - 12:57 PM

Isn't this the main goal of a hoax? Hoping that people will pass the info to others without verifying their sources ?

#5 manuleka

manuleka

    Way Out Of Control - You need a life :)

  • Members
  • 1,603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:myComputer
  • myCENTs:41.72

Posted 09 January 2012 - 10:05 PM

this is bull.... hehe... thanks for wasting a minute of my time reading this rubbish



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users