|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
Feb 12 2007, 12:48 AM
Post
#11
|
|
|
Member [ Level 1 ] Group: Members Posts: 33 Joined: 4-February 07 Member No.: 20,172 |
If the said host dosen't have cpanel and fantastico it will become very difficult to manage ones account there.In this case they are claiming that they will allow 5000 MB it is way too much for a free web site hoster so I assume there will be stability issues rising as the number of users increase. I think I will use astahost after I get my tarhet credits -- knight17 I concur. This could be a spamming site... Also, you have no websites up from this site. Take caution. But thanks for sharing . eFX |
|
|
|
Feb 12 2007, 01:54 AM
Post
#12
|
|
|
Member [ Level 1 ] Group: Members Posts: 33 Joined: 4-February 07 Member No.: 20,172 |
I concur. This could be a spamming site... Also, you have no websites up from this site. Take caution. But thanks for sharing . eFX I found some reviews on it if anyone is interested: http://www.free-webhosts.com/reviews/King-Of-Hosts.php They also list the following: # 1,000mb Disk Space 8,000mb disk space (8gb!) # 10,000mb Bandwidth 50,000mb bandwidth (50gb!). # NO ADVERTISEMENTS on your pages! # FREE subdomain (yourname.KingofHosts.com) # Easy to use WYSIWYG editor # Full FTP Support # PHP 4 Support # 1 mySQL database 10 mySQL database's # Instant activation # Domain name support # 99.9% Uptime Also, they seem to be the same as the site: freehostinn.com FYI of course.. eFX |
|
|
|
Feb 13 2007, 04:46 AM
Post
#13
|
|
|
Newbie [ Level 1 ] Group: Members Posts: 1 Joined: 13-February 07 Member No.: 20,374 |
I happen to have a site hosted on kingofhosts.com, and so far its been great. Very fast server and in the forum there is mention of having over 5,000 sites hosted there, so this is a rather big free hosting site. I checked them out on alexa.com and they are in the top 200,000 of websites on the web. So far, so great!
This post has been edited by tommygun: Feb 13 2007, 04:50 AM |
|
|
|
Feb 13 2007, 05:10 AM
Post
#14
|
|
|
NiGHTFoX - Hiding in the dark Group: Members Posts: 680 Joined: 3-April 05 Member No.: 3,584 |
You know, if they have text ads on the pages then the following on the homepage could be considered false advertising:
QUOTE NO ADVERTISEMENTS on your pages! [N]F |
|
|
|
Feb 14 2007, 02:13 AM
Post
#15
|
|
|
Newbie [ Level 2 ] Group: Members Posts: 17 Joined: 14-February 07 Member No.: 20,406 |
For those who need a website that needs at most 5,000 mb; require FTP uploading, PHP & MySQL, and especially for no price!, Then you should go to www.KingofHosts.com It's a really good website. However, being the fact that it's free, what it doesn't offer (unlike astahost) is Fantastico, PHPpgAdmin, and a lot of other free features that Astahost offer. It also has a bottom text-ad but that shouldn't be too bad. I recommend this for those who don't want to pay for a webhost or for those who can't keep up the activity here in Astahost. This thread is not meant to insult AStahost because astahost is an excellent FreeWebHost can't disagree to that. Ok what I am looking for a host that you really can't find that easy is a place that offers free web domain, and free hosting for a www.yourname.com site no crappy subdomains and stuff like that an accual website |
|
|
|
Feb 14 2007, 07:41 PM
Post
#16
|
|
|
Way Out Of Control - You need a life :) Group: [MODERATOR] Posts: 2,186 Joined: 16-August 05 Member No.: 7,896 myCENTs:57.74 |
They have no ads on your homepage, but two text lines of ads on each next page. So, they claim it's ads-free, it's false.
And I really think, 300kbytes per file is really small... This post has been edited by yordan: Feb 14 2007, 08:40 PM |
|
|
|
Feb 14 2007, 08:19 PM
Post
#17
|
|
|
Newbie [ Level 2 ] Group: Members Posts: 10 Joined: 14-February 07 Member No.: 20,421 |
Looks to me (from the upgrade page) like it's based on www.110mb.com. I'm currently trying them but seems that they are VERY restrictive over what you are and what you aren't allow to do. I need to create some symlinks but there's no way to do it!! Hmmm, I'm hoping astahost is better!
|
|
|
|
Feb 15 2007, 05:15 PM
Post
#18
|
|
|
Way Out Of Control - You need a life :) Group: [MODERATOR] Posts: 2,186 Joined: 16-August 05 Member No.: 7,896 myCENTs:57.74 |
Looks to me (from the upgrade page) like it's based on www.110mb.com. I'm currently trying them but seems that they are VERY restrictive over what you are and what you aren't allow to do. I need to create some symlinks but there's no way to do it!! Hmmm, I'm hoping astahost is better! It's slightly different from 110mb.com, because they have forced ads and 110mb.com has no forced ads. Besides that, I agree, Astahost is the best provider I found till now. |
|
|
|
Feb 15 2007, 05:17 PM
Post
#19
|
|
|
Advanced Member Group: Members Posts: 149 Joined: 14-February 07 From: Tuticorin, India Member No.: 20,415 myCENTs:0.55 |
I've seen that these type of hosting sites, don't give the complete control of their webspace to the users.
The "Layered Panel", control panel in the Hosting account for managing the webspace has very limited features, it can by no means compared to the cPanel. Also they have the PHP configured in Safe Mode, so definitely you'll not be able to run advanced scripts and several forum packages. When you have sites like Trap17 and Astahost why do you need other? |
|
|
|
Feb 16 2007, 02:49 PM
Post
#20
|
|
|
Guilty Until Proven Innocent Group: Members Posts: 372 Joined: 13-April 05 Member No.: 3,937 |
|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
Similar Topics
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 22nd November 2008 - 09:58 AM |